singular.html

Gutenberg block change summary by version: from 5.9.0 to 12.0.2

Tables of block additions and deletions for each version of Gutenberg up to 12.0.2

Gutenberg block change summary by version: from 12.1.0

Variations

The blocks which were previously prefixed with core-embed are now variations of Embed – core/embed. The social link blocks are now variations of Social Icon – core/social-link.

Other blocks with variations are:

.

Full Site Editing (FSE )

The blocks for Full Site Editing ( available from version 9.2 onwards ) are only available when using an FSE theme. Most of these blocks are intended to be used in the Site Editor (beta) admin page and in the custom post types Templates ( wp_template ) and Template Parts ( wp_template_part ). Some of the blocks can also be used in standard post content.

Block change summary

VersionBlocksAddedDeleted
12.0.0-
12.0.2
184
11.9.0-11.9.1184v11.9.0 reinstates the changes in 11.7.0
11.8.0-11.8.3180Looks like most of the block changes in 11.7.0 were reverted except the Pinterest block.
11.7.0184Comment Author Avatar – core/comment-author-avatar
Comment Author Name – core/comment-author-name
Comment Content – core/comment-content
Comment Date – core/comment-date
Comment Edit Link – core/comment-edit-link
Comment Reply Link – core/comment-reply-link
Comment Template – core/comment-template
Comments Query Loop – core/comments-query-loop
Navigation Area – core/navigation-area
Pattern – core/pattern

Pinterest – pinterest

Wolfram Cloud – wolfram-cloud

Note: Post Comment core/post-comment is deprecated.

Post Comment Author – core/post-comment-author
Post Comment Content – core/post-comment-content
Post Comment Date – core/post-comment-date

Horizontal – buttons-horizontal
Meetup.com embed

Navigation (horizontal) – horizontal
Navigation (vertical) – vertical

Vertical – buttons-vertical
11.6.0179Submenu – core/navigation-submenu
11.5.0 – 11.5.1178Group row variation of the Group block.
10.9.0- 11.4.0177Legacy Widget (Experimental) – core/legacy-widget
10.7.0-10.8.2178
  1. Home Link – core/home-link
  2. Legacy Widget (Experimental) – core/legacy-widget

Header and footer template part variants reinstated.
10.6.0-10.6.2174Post Terms – core/post-terms plus 2 variants for Post Tags and Post CategoriesPost Tags – core/post-tagsPost Hierarchical Terms – core/post-hierarchical-terms
Two variants of Template Part – core/template-part: Header and Footer.
10.5.0 – 10.5.4176Post Comments Link – core/post-comments-link
10.3.0-10.4.1175
  1. Login/out – core/loginout
  2. Term Description – core/term-description
  3. Archive Title – core/query-title
and Query Title’s Archive title variation. Plus the 5 Link variations were reinstated.
10.2.0-10.2.1166Header and Footer variations of Template Part – core/template-partAccidentally removed 5 Link variations

core/category,
core/link,
core/page,core/post,core/tag
Removed Subheading (deprecated) – core/subhead
10.0.0-10.1.0170
  1. Page List – core/page-list
  2. Post Navigation Link – core/post-navigation-link
  3. – core/widget-group

with two variations for Post Navigation link
Next post and Previous post
9.9.0166
  1. Next Page – core/query-pagination-next
  2. Page Numbers – core/query-pagination-numbers
  3. Previous Page – core/query-pagination-previous
9.6.0-9.8.0163Two variation for Buttons – core/buttons
Horizontal buttons-horizontal
Vertical buttons-vertical
9.5.0161Posts List – query variation
9.3.0-9.4.01604 query variations
image-date-title – query variation
title-date – query variation
title-excerpt
title-date-excerpt
and 3 social link variations.
Patreon – social link
Telegram – social link
Tiktok – social link
9.2.0-9.2.215322 blocks for Full Site Editing
  1. Post Author – core/post-author
  2. Post Comment – core/post-comment
  3. Post Comment Author – core/post-comment-author
  4. Post Comment Content – core/post-comment-content
  5. Post Comment Date – core/post-comment-date
  6. Post Comments – core/post-comments
  7. Post Comments Count – core/post-comments-count
  8. Post Comments Form – core/post-comments-form
  9. Post Content – core/post-content
  10. Post Date – core/post-date
  11. Post Excerpt – core/post-excerpt
  12. Post Featured Image – core/post-featured-image
  13. Post Hierarchical Terms – core/post-hierarchical-terms
  14. Post Tags – core/post-tags
  15. Post Title – core/post-title
  16. Query Loop – core/query
  17. Pagination – core/query-pagination
  18. Site Logo – core/site-logo
  19. Site Tagline – core/site-tagline
  20. Site Title – core/site-title
  21. Template Part – core/template-part

The following blocks/variations are not registered:

core/query-loop plus Columns variation 100 – one-column-full.
9.1.0-9.1.1130Legacy Widget (Experimental) – core/legacy-widget
9.0.0131
8.9.0-8.9.3131Added 5 variations for Navigation – core/navigation : category-link, navigation-link, page-link , post-link and tag-link
8.8.0126Core embed blocks are now variationsNavigation variations: Horizontal and Vertical
Blocks since core-embed blocks were changed to variations.
VersionCoreCore embedAddedDeleted
8.5.0-8.7.19434Core total now includes the variations for Columns, Social links and Navigation ( experimental ).Hulu – core-embed/hulu
8.2.0 – 8.5.09435Widget Area – core/widget-area
7.5.0 – 8.1.04635The 38/39 other social link blocks.
7.3.0 – 7.4.08435

The following blocks/variations are not registered:

core-embed/tiktok
7.2.08434
  1. Buttons – core/buttons
7.1.08334
7.0.08334
  1. Navigation – core/navigation
  2. Navigation Link – core/navigation-link
  1. Navigation – core/navigation-menu
  2. Menu Item – core/navigation-menu-item
6.5.0 – 6.9.08334
  1. Navigation – core/navigation-menu
  2. Menu Item – core/navigation-menu-item
  3. Social links – core/social-links
and 38 other social link blocks.
5.9.04234
  1. Calendar – core/calendar
  2. Group – core/group
  3. Legacy Widget (Experimental) – core/legacy-widget
  4. RSS – core/rss
  5. Search – core/search
  6. Tag Cloud – core/tag-cloud
  7. Amazon Kindle – core-embed/amazon-kindle
  1. Funny or Die – core-embed/funnyordie
  2. Photobucket – core-embed/photobucket
WordPress 5.03635
Gutenberg Block additions and deletions summary

Deprecated blocks

For some reason, Gutenberg still registers a number of Deprecated blocks.

I’ve raised a Feature Request to have them removed. wordpress/gutenberg#19267. Subheading has been removed but not Text columns.

Plugin name and descriptionPlugin linksVersion, total downloads, last update, tested
Gutenberg
The Gutenberg plugin provides editing, customization, and site building features to WordPress. This beta plugin allows you to test bleeding-edge featu …
13.3.0
29,268,140
May 25, 2022
6.0

References

Published:

Last updated:

February 6, 2022

Information